Natchitoches City Council seats up for grabs in Primary | Around The Town

The local 2020 election season is in full swing as several residents have thrown their hat in the ring in hopes of ousting incumbents on the Natchitoches City Council.
Contested seats up for grabs are mayor, councilman at large, and councilman for districts three and four. Current District one councilman Eddie Harrington and District two councilman Dale Nielson are running unopposed.
In the mayoral race, Democrat Ronnie James Williams Jr and Libertarian David “DJ” Kees are keen to unseat Independent incumbent Lee Posey, who is seeking his third term in office.
Squaring off with incumbent Don Mims for the Councilman at Large seat is Democrat Betty Sawyer Smith. Democrat Incumbent Sylvia Morrow will face Democrat Christopher Petit, Independent Carl “Doug” Sias and No Party candidate Demetrius Fruga for the district three seat.
Lastly, Democrat incumbent Lawrence Batiste hopes to retain his district four seat against Democrats James Below Jr and Walter E Johnson Jr, and No Party candidate Rosemary Washington.
The municipal primary election is slated for Saturday, April 4, with polls opening at 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Information regarding early voting and voter registration appeared in the Feb.15 issue of Around the Town

City Council

Categories: Political

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.